“Change” I’ve come to depend on

I wrote a post today and made a decision at the time not to mention a piece of information that weighed heavily on my mind.

I’ve reconsidered, I’ve decided to share my thoughts.

Early on, as I’ve expressed before, I was enchanted with Obama’s speeches. In my quest to eagerly learn more about him I initially went to his Senate sight to read more.  It was at that point in time, that I read on his senate website that he was a proud member of the Trinity United Church of Christ (TUCC). I read both of BO’s books as well. Any piece of information I could grasp about him or the people around him – I read.

As coincidence would have it, I had downloaded Obama’s family tree prior to the infamous speech he made on Memorial Day in May while in New Mexico about his “uncle” who was in WWII.

The reason I downloaded it was because the name “Wright” was listed in his ancestry. At the time, Obama had been referring to Rev. Wright as an Uncle figure in his life — I wanted to follow up on that lead later — wondering, if perhaps, Rev. Wright was indeed an extended family member from generations back (which I have yet to do).

At the time, Obama cited that his uncle had helped liberate Auschwitz during WWII.

After it was pointed out that Obama’s mother was an only child, he later revised his statement to say that it wasn’t an uncle, but rather a great uncle.

After it was pointed out that the US didn’t liberate Auschwitch, he later revised his statement to say that his great uncle liberated Ohrduf camp, a sub-camp of Buchenwald and added that his uncle was a member of the 89th Infantry Division.

With these “changes” came great debate on the internet forums. Unknown to most people, the “great uncle” in question still seemed to have some discrepancies.

You see, there was a Charles W. Payne who was on his family tree who was born approximately 1924. When researched, Charles W. Payne did not serve the 89th infantry, but rather was enlisted in the NAVY.

After it was pointed out that his uncle Charles W. Payne couldn’t have liberated the sub-camp of Buchenwald because he wasn’t even in the Army, Obama later revised his statement to say that his great uncles name was Charles T. Payne.

There WAS a Charles T. Payne listed as serving in the 89th Infantry Division.

But here’s what most people don’t know about that discrepancy.

I downloaded his family tree off the internet shortly before the great uncle debacle. The family tree I downloaded said:

15. Leona MCCURRY was born about May 1897 in Kansas.

Rolla Charles PAYNE and Leona MCCURRY married in Kansas about 1922 and had the following children:

1. i. Madelyn PAYNE

ii. Charles W. PAYNE born about 1924.

iii. Arlene PAYNE born about 1926.

Later, when I revisited the SAME website after the argument began, the information had changed to:

15. Leona MCCURRY was born about May 1897 in Kansas.

Rolla Charles PAYNE and Leona MCCURRY married in Kansas about 1922 and had the following children:

1. i. Madelyn PAYNE

ii. Charles Thomas PAYNE born in 1925.

iii. Arlene PAYNE born about 1926.

His geneology had been changed on the internet after researchers pointed out the additional inconsistencies in his story.

Another point that should be made is an earily similar 2002 speech Obama made:

My grandfather signed up for a war the day after Pearl Harbor was bombed, fought in Patton’s army. He saw the dead and dying across the fields of Europe; he heard the stories of fellow troops who first entered Auschwitz and Treblinka. He fought in the name of a larger freedom, part of that arsenal of democracy that triumphed over evil, and he did not fight in vain. I don’t oppose all wars.

Is it possible both his granddad and granddads’ brother both fought in the war? Or had the war story evolved from 2002 to 2008?

I can’t substantiate the family tree that I had downloaded on my hard drive. After all, who would believe me? Eventually the whole incident was forgotten.

Should we be forgetting these “changing” stories that keep cropping up or are they red flags we should be tucking away in the back of our mind and make note of?

UPDATE: During the Denver Convention Michelle stood up in the audience (on the last day?) along with an old Uncle Willie as he was introduced on national TV as the uncle who was in the war. I about had a cow when I heard his name announced. I wish I had that clip to verify what I thought I heard.

2 Responses to “Change” I’ve come to depend on

  1. deadenders says:

    You would think after 2 state senate campaigns and being groomed to be president since 2004, the DNC would have helped barry get all his stories straight. He comes off as a liar, then the media does their best to fix it for him.

  2. I still don’t know to this day the answers to what I observed.

    Another thing that still haunts me is whatever happened to his grandmother in Hawaii? I heard she passed the day before the election — but there was never a funeral?

Leave a Reply

